Tekken Tag 2’s Jaycee and Manila’s Volta: Separated at Birth?


Lucha Mask Ladies, Unite!

I guess I just had to get this off my chest. As hot as new masked wrestler Jaycee from Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is, I can’t help but be reminded of some other character when I see her. That character is none other than Volta, the titular superheroine of a local comedy movie that came out here in Manila, Philippines a few years back. The character was played by comedienne Ai Ai Delas Alas. What can I say? The shape of their masks, the bright color schemes… they’re pretty similar! Maybe the film producers used a lucha mask for Volta’s costume. Or maybe a Tekken team member was in Manila a few years ago. Maybe I just have a bit too much time on my hands. Moving on…

One Response to “Tekken Tag 2’s Jaycee and Manila’s Volta: Separated at Birth?”

  1. JayCee’s mask looks heavily inspired by Rey Mysterio’s Mask. Both bird theme masks REY(humming bird) JC(hawk/phoenix?).

Leave a Reply

