Looking Back at 2010

2010, I hardly knew you. It was a good year in gaming, for me particularly on portable gaming, but it was still a year with awesome, big-name titles.

Perhaps the biggest title for me in 2010 was, well, Starcraft 2. Blizzard finally delivered on their epic RTS sequel, and I just ate it up. The graphics were amazing, the gameplay engaging and addictive, and the story, well, the story kept me going all the way to the end and left me (and of course countless other fans) wanting MORE. It’s going to be a while till we see Kerrigan return in Heart of the Swarm, but for now we can always keep flying the Wings of Liberty.


This trailer for DC Online is better than most full superhero movies.

Red Dead Redemption has swept the world in a storm of bullets and revenge, and I have to admit i came in late to the party. Still, I totally agree with this western epic’s merits, from the story to the production values and the gameplay- this is as good as a game can get. The last minute addition of Undead Nightmare makes this gem all the more bloody brilliant. If you still don’t have RDR, make it part of your game library if you’re truly a hardcore gamer, casual or not. Heh…


My favorite game trailer of 2010.

In fighting games, my favorite genre, I have to say in particular I had great fun, although most of it came not from actual games but from the hoopla around them.
Super Streetfighter IV took over the spotlight from Tekken 6 once it released in April. Capcom and Namco-Bandai however would share the fighting game arena- not as competitors (well, not totally), surprisingly- but as collaborators.


The Fighting Festival Begins.

Producers Katsuhiro Harada (Tekken) and Yoshinori Ono (Streetfighter) revealed what they termed the Fighting Game Festival, a series of releases that they hope will revitalize the beat ’em up genre: Streetfighter X Tekken, Tekken X Streetfighter and Tekken Tag Tournament 2. Plus, going beyond any gaming company PR move done before, both producers now allow themselves continuous access with their fans over Twitter, giving their gaming public a way to voice opinion during the time when it can actually matter.
Of the Festival games, Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is set for release in mid-2011. Streetfighter X Tekken may release within the year as well. For now though, fans look to Twitter for the next little update.


Big Things come to little iPhones.

The biggest surprise for me of all were the many, many little surprises. ‘Little’ in terms of screen size- iPad and iPhone gaming truly took off in 2010, with games coming and going seemingly every week for the iOS4 devices. From casual puzzlers to major time-eaters, fighting games to RPGS, original titles to big-name ports, Apple has set the new standard for portable gaming. I just can’t wait to see what 2011 brings to my iArcade. On my other portable gaming device, the PSP, it was really just about one game- Valkyria Chronicles 2. I await the sequel with great anticipation.


Not so much a trailer but a mini-epic.

Well, that’s that, I guess. It was great, and it still is. Many games I started playing in 2010, I’ll keep playing on and on, I’m sure. But as the Hardcore Casual Gamer that I am, I’m always looking for the next big thing. Always forward! Bring it on, 2011!

Leave a Reply

