Post-Christmas Game Shopping


New Year Game Splurging.

Okay, let me say this- PS3 gaming here in the Philippines is not cheap. I really think it over when I get a game since I’ll be paying full price and often with shipping costs. However I just went ‘the hell with it’ and bought a couple of games last weekend. I stayed home for pretty much the whole Christmas vacation and didn’t spend much, so I think it’s fine.

The two titles I got were Sega’s Valkyria Chronicles (AKA Valkyrie of the Battlefield) and Rise of the Argonauts. Valkyria Chronicles is one of the most critically-acclaimed games on the PS3 last year, but unfortunately wasn’t given much attention by gamers, perhaps due to its being overshadowed by other big titles, and perhaps by lack of marketing from Sega. Anyway, this strategy RPG looks pretty unique, and the anime-esque story is sure to enthrall me (in fact, it’s supposedly so good an actual anime series based on it is already in production). As the story goes, you take the role of Welkin Gunther, a young officer trying to defend his land against the seemingly unstoppable might of an empire. Desperate struggle? Lots of firepower and babes? Anime melodrama? Count me in!

The other title, Rise of the Argonauts, is a more action-oriented RPG, putting you in the sandals of Jason as he strives to resurrect his slain fiancee. I have not been impressed by this game’s graphics, but the story and the gameplay have intrigued me, so I decided to check it out.

A good start to gaming in the New Year, I guess, along with the other big titles I haven’t really maximized in the holidays. More to do on the way through 2009 then.

Leave a Reply

