Looking Back and Moving Onward

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

Here I am hoping that all of you out there are hale and hearty today in 2009, preferably with all your digits intact. I mean, if you’re smart enough to surf and use the web, chances are you wouldn’t be stupid enough to pick up random dud firecrackers and get your fingers blown off, possibly impeding your gaming skills. Anyway, here we are. The past year wasn’t the best of times with all the economic woes and all, but it was a nice year for games.

I had fun (actually am STILL having fun) with lots of titles, particularly biggies like Metal Gear Solid 4, Soulcalibur IV, Fable 2, Fallout 3, Tomb Raider Underworld and Prince of Persia. I even got to dabble in some cool handheld stuff, like Ikkitousen Eloquent Fist for the PSP, and Bleach Heat the Soul 5 (Neliel is HAWT!). Even my iPod Touch got into the action with some late year entries of Puzzle Quest and free gems like Space Deadbeef making pleasant time killers.

Arcade action for me was mainly Tekken 6. On the crappy side, I spent the whole freakin’ year waiting for the title, only to eventually find out I had to wait the better part of another year for the home version. On the bright side though, it seems that Manila is a pretty important part of Namco-Bandai’s plans for their fighting sequel.

Now I’m looking forward to another year of awesome games, fighters in particular. Tekken 6 Bloodline Rebellion will be arriving later in the month, with the inevitably awesome console versions slated for a third quarter release. I’m expecting my copy of Streetfighter IV in the mail in mid-to-late February, and also I’m continually hoping and praying that Sega finally gets off their butts and announces the home port of Virtua Fighter 5R.

In other genres, I’m also looking forward to Resident Evil 5, out in March. Other big titles should be breaking the surface very soon, though for now I think my plate is full with the stuff I totally dig.

Now more than ever, gaming and games are big as people continually seek ways to relax and unwind after a hard day’s work and all the crap that other forms of media shovel at them. I’m fully expecting 2009 to be awesome, so I hope y’all stay with me throughout the coming months. Later then! Again… HAPPY NEW YEAR! The Best is Yet to Come.

Leave a Reply

