Heroes VS Heroes

Batsu takes Ryu
Yet another crazy fighting game combo from Capcom!

I have to admit, I haven’t been paying attention much to the upcoming Tatsunoko vs Capcom: Cross Generation of Heroes. It’s a 2-D, cel-shaded fighter that puts together characters from the Tatsunoko animes (G-Force, Tekkaman) with Capcom’s veteran fighters. But little by little, I’m getting interested. It’s got 2-on-2 play, which should be cool and hearkens back to the VS days of yore. Granted, I was never really into the Capcom VS games, but I liked them if only for Capcom’s cool interpretations of characters into the fighting game mold; no one makes them as awesome as Capcom can, I say.

Anyway, maybe the reason why I haven’t been too interested is that up to now, the roster is quite a mystery. We have Ken Washio of Gatchaman/G-Force on, Tekkaman and Casshern from Tatsunoko so far, and Chun Li, Ryu and Batsu (of Rival Schools) from Capcom. What else is in store? With just a handful of names and faces, there’s still room for a lot of fighters, and I think it’s gonna take some favorites of mine thrown in to make me really piqued for this- gimme Ibuki or Makoto, and I’ll bite. For now though, I’m liking the art style and the look. So far, this has apparently only been confirmed for the arcade, but a console release should be inevitable. More on this as we get it.

Leave a Reply

